template : single product

Explore and discover...

Racket In The Attic

cd92000 / BMC-0005

With each new release the Barra MacNeils have improved, while maintaining everything that makes them good. This is a difficult task, which they accomplish. On their eighth studio release, they tackle many cover versions with skill and originality. Their take on Lindsey Buckingham’s “Second Hand News” is truly brilliant and incredibly original. Paddy Maloney makes a guest appearance on the wonderful “Rattlin’ Roarin’ Willie (another version of the song can be found on the Chieftains’ Fire in the Kitchen), and Canada’s Great Big Sea provides background vocals on the beautiful “Misty Moisty Morning.” Such guest appearances add to this great CD instead of detracting from it, as is the case on other CDs. This music is the sound of a group continuing to explore their roots and their origins while at the same time growing within their genre. The music is tight and the arrangements are astounding. This CD is a must for fans of Celtic or folk music.


  1. Don’t Call Me Early
  2. Rattlin’ Roarin’ Willie
  3. Second Hand News
  4. Longest Day
  5. Queen Of Argyle
  6. Misty Moisty Morning
  7. By Northern Light
  8. Everytime
  9. Racket In The Attic
  10. Come High, Come Low
  11. Nancy O
  12. Tullochgorum

Purchase mp3s

button-itunes  button-cdbaby

Purchase physical CD

Order Racket In The Attic CD @ $18.00

View cart